Potato harvest

• 12 Replies

Jamie Butterworth

• Young Gardener at Chelsea Flower Show - 2014, 2015
  • BBC3 Young Gardener Of The Year 2011 - Finalist
    • Jamie Butterworth
Potato harvest
« on: February 04, 2011, 21:54 »
How much should i expect from 1 seed potatoe of desiree, i know they are heavy cropping which is why i chose them but just wondered if i was to put one per poly pot how much i would get from each, excluding damage from slugs which i need to find a way of avoiding ::)
« Last Edit: February 05, 2011, 09:39 by Ice »
If you want to be happy for a short time - get drunk.

If you want to be happy for a long time - fall in love.

If you want to be happy forever - take up gardening!

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: Potatoe harvest
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2011, 22:00 »
I have no experience of growing, other than in the ground, but growing in pots I'd thought would be a way of avoiding slugs in itself. It's a right battle in  open ground!
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

JaK

• Happy half plot.
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2011, 22:05 »
I have no idea, I've not grown them before. You shouldn't need to worry about slugs really. I can only grow spuds in bags and never have a problem with slugs and snails. How big are the polypots? I always put 3 or 4 seeds in each bag but they may be bigger than the pots?

Jamie Butterworth

• Jamie Butterworth
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2011, 08:10 »
I have no experience of growing, other than in the ground, but growing in pots I'd thought would be a way of avoiding slugs in itself. It's a right battle in  open ground!

I know, i grew mine in the open ground last year and my crop was decimated by slugs :( Which is why ive opted for polypots instead, but i grew a crop of spuds in a dustbin last year also and didnt get a single potatoe so i dont know where i went wrong :unsure: