When to use a tin of tomatoes -v- passata?

• 3 Replies

Elcie

When to use a tin of tomatoes -v- passata?
« on: October 03, 2010, 15:51 »
I am still relatively new to this cooking from scratch business (it wasn't that long ago that I thought heating a ready meal constituted cooking!) and was wondering today what would be the main difference when using tinned tomatoes or passata?  Will it taste different or will there be a different consistency?

For example, I have now got into the habit of making a vegetable curry on a Sunday and eating it during the week.  I use a tin of tomatoes, but today saw some passata in the supermarket.  Would it make a massive difference if I used that instead?

Thanks  :)

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: When to use a tin of tomatoes -v- passata?
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2010, 16:03 »
The only real difference is in texture........ a tin of toms will have whole, or chopped toms inside............the passata will be the same because it is just toms but they have been passed through a sieve to remove the skins and seeds :)

So in a curry it would taste the same, but be runnier, so you may prefer the lumps......if you know what I mean :D

CZ Silhouette

« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2010, 08:38 »
This is a recipe based on one from the River Cottage book of Preserves.
Its well worth the effort. You can obviously change the seasoning to suit your taste.

Cut tomatoes in half and place them cut side up in oven dish or baking tray.
Cut up (big chunks) some shallots or onions & mix in with toms. Add 3-4 garlic cloves thinly sliced. Then drizzle over about 50ml of oil. I use olive but sunflower or rapeseed is also good. Then sprinkle over rosemary, basil & oregano. I used dried because I didn’t have fresh. Then sprinkle on salt & black pepper.