Autumn planting?

• 15 Replies

Beccy

Autumn planting?
« on: September 07, 2009, 12:26 »
Hello fellow vegetable growers.  I'm very new to this - I started growing my own veg this spring - it was a tentative beginning, as I've got limited space and also wasn't very confident in what I could grow!  Having had a great crop of tomatoes, garlic, lettuce etc over the summer, I'm eager to do more and frankly too impatient to wait until spring!  I've read some gardening books that say i can plant certain potato varieties in September, in order to get new potatoes for Christmas, as well as certain varieties of carrots, onions, radishes etc etc.  However, particularly with regards potatoes, when I've been to garden centres or online, recently, to buy seed potatoes and onions, I can't find any any that are available for planting now.
Does anyone out there have any advice - I am completely wrong in thinking I can plant at this time of year, or am I just not looking in the right place!

Any help would be gratefully received!
Thanks

noshed

Re: Autumn planting?
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2009, 12:40 »
You can do spuds for Christmas - I've never tried but you'll be lucky to find any seed pots about now.
You can plant onion sets and garlic now and anything with a shortish growing season - beetroot, turnips etc. Most salad leaves will be OK and I just keep planting out cabbage plants as I eat a row.
Cabbage will be OK until quite late on but you might need a bit of fleece if you have any lettuce left later on - or plant the hardy varieties.
Self-sufficient in rasberries and bindweed. Slug pellets can be handy.

Libby

« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2009, 12:54 »
You can plant autumn sown broad beans from beginning of October.  Your crop will be ready about end May/beginning of June.  This was the first crop I had on my allotment and I was so impressed, I will be planting double this year. 

Beccy

« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2009, 13:27 »