Autumn Planting

• 4 Replies

Scrubby

Autumn Planting
« on: August 14, 2008, 00:47 »
Hello all

Total newbie to year round veg gardening...

As some lovely people very kindly removed the veg that I had grown over the summer one night last week, I was thinking of turning the bed over and planting some thngs up for autumn and winter growing.

What, if anything is good to sow/plant for this time?
Why so serious?

iwantanallotment

Autumn Planting
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2008, 01:12 »
Wow, I'm sorry your veggies disappeared  :shock:
Could it have been a pest?

You could be sowing/planting winter & spring cabbages now, winter onions and garlic in a few weeks, lettuces, radishes & other quick salad crops, winter hardy spring onions, spinach, potatoes in containers/bags for Christmas/winter, overwintering broad beans, ie Sutton Dwarf.......oh, and Aquadulce Claudia broad beans....lots of things really.
Good luck   :wink:

dugless

Autumn Planting
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2008, 07:28 »
I was afraid that sort of thing was going to happen, as prices rise in the shops. how easy is it to raid someones allotment. :evil:
Time is more precious than Gold
Spend it Wisely

Scrubby

Autumn Planting
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2008, 20:46 »
Oh, it was most definitely a pest!  One in a van with a knife for cutting through the net over my veg!  :evil:

They came twice, once to take my growbags, empty pots, the things I had already in pots, including a lovely little bay tree and the second time to clear out my veggie plot and take the remaining potted plants.  I am so gutted!

Thanks for the advice, I shall go to the garden centre and scope out some good varieties and hope that it doesn't happen again!

Onions and garlic sound good, as does lettuce and spring onion and the broad beans...

SnooziSuzi

• Facebook
Autumn Planting
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2008, 21:18 »
Sorry to hear that Scrubby  :evil:  Some folks are just evil  :evil: