What to plant first??

• 10 Replies

tiredmum

• http://www.tiredmumof6.blogspot.com
What to plant first??
« on: March 31, 2008, 21:16 »
I had a phone call today and there is an allotment with my name on it!! hoorah!
Apparentely another woman has had it for a year and has done nothing with it, so he's persuaded her to part with it....  :wink:  I was told that as shes done nothing it is pretty overgrown, which I was expecting to be honest.
I'm going to view it on Wednesday, but I'm pretty sure I'm going to take it anyway...(I don't know when the next one will come available)
It will be myself and five of the children 'doing' the allotment though hubby has said he'll give us a hand to get started...
Now the questions, as I'm a complete novice, I thought I would clear as much of it as I can to start with, what would be the best things to plant straight away from seed?
I'll have more questions later, I'm just working my way through things...
Thanks
Cazz

LadyPlod

What to plant first??
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2008, 21:44 »
Good for you getting an allotment!
Think you're wise accepting what you're offered, these patches of land are gold dust......... still waiting for mine! :(
LP :wink:

Nikkithefoot

What to plant first??
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2008, 21:58 »
Congrats on your allotment. I'm still waiting too.

I would only clear a bit at a time and plant up as you go. That way you will keep on top of things, and not get too disheartened thinking how much more to go.

Have fun  :)

Nikki
I was put on this earth to accomplish a certain number of things; right now I am so far behind I will never die.

Angelah

• Experienced Member
What to plant first??
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2008, 13:01 »
We're clearing our allotment ready for our first round of crops too, so we're clearing a bit at a time and keeping as much as pos of the rest covered.