Beer Making Kits

• 15 Replies

NoodleSoup

Beer Making Kits
« on: May 12, 2009, 14:25 »
My partner has decided he wants to brew his own beer so I have been tasked with finding him a beer making kit for his birthday -  there are so many kits out there I have no idea what to choose  :(. Can anyone recommend me a decent kit for a total novice? I'm happy to pay up to about £100 and I'm looking for something with everything a beginner would need included in it. There's so much choice in this range I don't know if there's kits I should avoid etc or whether the kits I'm looking at include everything he'll need to get started or not.

TIA :)

hindy

• Experienced Member
    • Hayden Road Allotmenteers
Re: Beer Making Kits
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2009, 21:23 »
I would recommend that you visit your local home brew shop. You will find that they are run by nice friendly people who know their stuff and will be able to point you to the right kit.
Andy
Founder of Hayden Road Allotmenteers

Harry Flashman VC

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2009, 22:34 »
Take a trip to Wilkos if you live near one they have a starter kit for about £20.00 other than that you need a Fermentation Bucket, Hydrometer, Syphen, plenty of bottles a crown capper or buy a pressure keg and don't forget to but steraliser  Or go to the site banner thats advertised at the top of the page that'll give you some idea what you need.

Good Luck

Sadgit

• Village Idiot
    • Middlesbrough Weather
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2009, 09:57 »
yep agree there. Wilkos.... don't buy all in one kits.

NoodleSoup

« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2009, 10:14 »
Or go to the site banner thats advertised at the top of the page that'll give you some idea what you need.

I did have a look there but couldn't decide what to buy. I think I might go for a Woodfordes kit. Thanks for the help everyone :)

Harry Flashman VC

« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2009, 11:36 »
The Woodfords Wherry is a good kit for a starter its a 2 can kit you don't need any extra sugar.