roosting

• 7 Replies

anna s

roosting
« on: October 27, 2011, 22:19 »
Please can someone tell me how to persuade my chickens to roost instead of sleeping on the floor of the coup? I have three pur breed hens about 16 weeks old. A Buff Orpington, a Light Sussex and a Rhode Island Red. They refuse to stay on the perches. I have to clean a corner of the coup every morning because they all sleep on top of one another in a corner and make a really big pile of droppings. I have removed the nesting box where it all began but they still sleep in the same place.

Also is it O.K. for the coup to be a bit damp inside? I bought a really expensive very good quality coup but the recent rain has been so bad that I wondered if I should cover it with roofing felt for the winter.

As you can tell I am very new to keeping chickens so any help would be gratefully received.

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: roosting
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2011, 22:28 »
Welcome to the site  :D

I'll move your questions over to the Hen House board as that's where chickeny questions go  :)
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

viettaclark

« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2011, 00:10 »
Hi! Your house shouldn't leak at all if it's good quality. Even our spare coop, a cheap Chinese pile of tinder wood, is dry and warm.
Roofing felt can be a haven for red mite and is best avoided although all the wooden coops have got it!!!

Sassy

« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2011, 08:24 »
Hi! Your house shouldn't leak at all if it's good quality. Even our spare coop, a cheap Chinese pile of tinder wood, is dry and warm.
Roofing felt can be a haven for red mite and is best avoided although all the wooden coops have got it!!!

I have a wooden coop about 7 years old and it doesn't have roofing felt just a well made wooden roof. Touching loads of wood I have not yet had red mite. :D :D
Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted!!

kegs