Treats for my chucks

• 19 Replies

andy46

• Experienced Member
Treats for my chucks
« on: July 17, 2012, 16:00 »
Can anyone give me some more ideas for treats for my 19 wk old chucks please?
They dont like ....mealworms,apple,tomato,celery,lettuce.
They only eat cherries and mixed corn.
Pull up a perch!!

splash101

Re: Treats for my chucks
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2012, 16:06 »
You may have to try them a few times with the same things, mine wouldnt touch cabbage greens to start with and had to try quite a few times and now they love them

andy46

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2012, 16:21 »
Thankyou i am new to keeping chucks so any advice is really helpful.  :D

tosca100

• New start, new life in BG
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2012, 16:24 »
Chucked a wrinkly nectarine out today. After looking at me with disgust and telling me in no uncertain terms they would rather have mealworms, they tucked in and it was gone in minutes. :D

Sassy

« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2012, 19:17 »
None of the hens I've had will eat lettuce!

We do save our apple cores which we chop up and they love these. Good recycling as well.

Most chooks on here seem to love grapes. :)

Spoilt chooks ::)
Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted!!

Prod

« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2012, 19:41 »
Mine go mad for apple which I slice and hand feed them  They also love their corn but especially if I shake in some poultry spice  which really seem to like.  They dont like cabbage or carrot  but I havent tried them with grapes yet.  The love the worms that I dig up for them too.

Fiona55

« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2012, 08:05 »
mine love brocoli & strawberries - happy chook keeping

Casey76

« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2012, 09:45 »
A handful of mixed corn is all they need.

Remember you must not feed any vegetables/fruit which have been in your kitchen.

nerdle

• The Lone Free Ranger
« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2012, 12:04 »