How old are my Bantams?

• 10 Replies

Budboy

How old are my Bantams?
« on: September 24, 2011, 19:12 »
I am a newbie at keeping Bantams and have just welcomed 3 Lavender Pekins to my garden.  I have been told they are approx. 20 weeks but I feel they are younger, they came as a starter package.  Is there an easy way to make a good guestimate?  I am feeding growers pellets and am not sure if that is right, they have mixed grain with shell etc., also.  All very bright, feeding well and preening and seem very happy in their large fox proof run so pretty much free range really.  Any advice welcomed.

Lindeggs

• A little Kiwi
Re: How old are my Bantams?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2011, 01:50 »
There is no really reliable way to tell their age.  If you can post pictures here, some of the experienced members might be able to have an educated guess at how far they are from laying.  A clear picture showing their facial features (comb and wattles) would be a big help.

At this time of year (autumn) your girls may take longer to come in to lay than they would if they reached the same age in spring.  Depending on your local climate and daylight hours they may decide to delay laying until after the shortest day in December!

If there is one thing chicken-keeping teaches you, it's that you can't rush Mother Nature.  :)

bantam novice

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2011, 08:34 »
Hello there and welcome to the forum.  I agree with Lindeggs here.  If you could post some pics it would be helpful.  In the meantime good luck with your chooks.  :)
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

Budboy

« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2011, 15:26 »
This is the one which looks older to me.
September 2011 062.jpg

Budboy

« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2011, 15:28 »
This one seems younger because the feathers are very different.  Any help would be very much appreciated.
September 2011 063.jpg

Budboy

« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2011, 15:33 »