New house and garden

• 10 Replies

ouchy

New house and garden
« on: February 06, 2010, 10:58 »
We've recently moved into a new house. It has a resonable sized garden and greenhouse.
It looks like the previous owners were not popular from what the neighbour has told me, but wouldnt elaborate.
Anyway, I want to start growing my own and want rid of whatever was being grown/growing before. I've got my eye on pots, carrots, onions, beans, beets and such like. Should I do a soil test or just get on with it and see what happens? As you can tell Im new at growing!

Elcie

Re: New house and garden
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2010, 11:44 »
Hi Ouchy, congratulations on the move, especially with a greenhouse there lucky you!  I haven't done a soil test and have been relatively successful in my first year but if you want to do one then it certainly doesn't hurt!

Good luck with growing it is all quite exciting.

granjan

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2010, 11:55 »
I haven't tested my soil either.  Learning by trial and error is part of the fun :) 

Any excess produce would make you really popular with the neighbours too  ;)

Trillium

« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2010, 15:32 »
Ouchy, if the previous owners were growing crops, then there's no need to soil test. that's really only needed on a commercial scale when substantial quantities are under question.

Your better solution is to simply ask the neighbours what your previous owners grew, as I'm sure they knew, and the neighbours might even be growers themselves who could offer a few tips or point you towards other neighbours who do. Most veg gardeners are thrilled to share info and help others.

solway cropper

« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2010, 22:22 »
Hi Ouchy,