LICE!!!!!

• 11 Replies

Brad26

LICE!!!!!
« on: May 15, 2010, 16:46 »
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie who really has had a bit of a bad start, got 3 birds from one breeder and 3 from another breeder. One of the first set had a sneeze and within a few days they all had Mycoplasma and now i'm getting them all injected with Baytrill as the terramycin in the water didn't really help. Hopefully with the antibiotics going straight into them it will have a better result.

However during all of this i also found lice on them.....i've been using the Barrier Louse powder but this is doing nothing and with so many other products out there i thought i'd ask on here to see if anyone can reccomend a particular product that will work.

By the way they are kept in a chicken house with an outdoor run of about 10 X 3 metres and the house gets cleaned out and scrubbed with poultry shield about every 5-6 days.

Many thanks in advance.

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: LICE!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2010, 17:03 »
I use frontline spray which as it isn't licenced for poultry I get from my vets - only ever had lice once and that was on a broody so now before I put the eggs under the broody I spray first (broodies are prone to lice). Hope this helps  :)
Staffies are softer than you think.

Ma Lowe

• Allotment owner from Feb 2014
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2010, 19:45 »
I used the Johnsons pigeon anti mite extra spray and it works a treat.

wolverine

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2010, 07:26 »
you sound like you have almost the same story as me except you have more chickens. Get frontline spray from your vet it cost me about £25 but seems to have worked. I sprayed them on the back of the neck and two days later I can't see any lice. Result  :)
"It's so simple to be wise. Just think of something stupid to say and then don't say it."

nicky d

• Experienced Member
  • super shane
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2010, 08:43 »