cockerels

• 4 Replies

andy8313

cockerels
« on: June 19, 2008, 19:45 »
hi i have four silkie hens that are lovely but i am thinking off getting a cockrel but as ikeep them in my garden am really worried off noise i am new to keeping chickens and love it but is there a cockrel that does not crow as load and frequent help

jack russell

cockerels
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2008, 21:25 »
only a stuffed one mate :D They crow and will annoy at least one neighbour enough to make a complaint :cry: sorry to put a dampner on your idea.  Can you not put your name down for a lotty and keep them there  :D
http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q230/jack-russell_2007/CIMG1386.jpg[/img]http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q230/jack-russell_2007/roostertop-1.jpg[/img]

not organic    but still a nice bloke

Foxy

cockerels
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2008, 21:32 »
I have 4 cockerels with a wide vocal range!!! The quietest being the biggest a cochin who sounds like a whoppee cushion.
Cockerels dont only crow at dawn - but periodically during the day, I really wouldn't recommend unless your neighbours are very very understanding  :?  :?  :? Saying that the pekin is quite unobtrusive and it it was just him I wouldn't really notice as more than one sets them all off!!!

mdueal

• Experienced Member
    • http://www.averysmallholding.co.uk/
cockerels
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2008, 22:54 »
I personally couldnt have chickens without my cockerels as they are so beautiful and have such funny characters. One cockerel isnt too bad for crowing. They do get started off if you go into the garden in the day or if they get startled but will settle ones they have crowed and showed you how hard the are!! As long as you can keep him shut in the darkened coop until a sensible hour in the morning then it is fine (even if he does crow it is sufficiently muffled).