Maybe a silly question...

• 36 Replies

Neelam

Maybe a silly question...
« on: October 07, 2013, 09:38 »
Hi to everyone, I'm a Newbie here in this forum and not yet owner of own chickens, which is mainly my reason to register for this forum - better to read and learn as much as possible BEFORE getting chicken and than realize things are maybe not happening the way I've expected them to happen.

However, after reading a lot about different breeds, different coops, how to set up everything and so on it seems there is one thing mentioned extremely often to the chickens: pests, disease, medication, short life  ???

Reading all that in my  mind I already have the closet only for chicken medication packed up to its top and keeping a vet as hostage, sleeping next to their coop with the gun underneath my head to get rid of any nightly thieves.

I'm thinking of a very small flock, maybe only 2 or 3 chicken to start out with (thinking of Sussex or Rhode Island). First of all, though my husband had a chicken farm in Pakistan at one stage in his life he still doesn't have the experience as he had people working for him there. Then, I do not have any experience plus we do have rabbits and as they are free run in the backyard with only kennels and the small shed as shelter I guess I have to restrict the chicken into a coop with run or the rabbits will chew up whatever the chicken are supposed to eat and even go inside the chicken coop, too... (and, after reading that chicken do not refuse some meat, I am not sure if they could not harm the baby rabbits with their beak.)

All these things needs to be considered very well before getting started. A chicken is an animal that has to be treated the same caring way as I treat our rabbits as it will be a pet with the option of some eggs and even if I would keep them for meat, too, I don't see any difference in the way they should live their life, whatever length of time this will be.