Wheat experiment.....

• 4 Replies

malky

Wheat experiment.....
« on: March 23, 2021, 18:24 »
Hi all,

I'm quite new to the allotment scene, getting my first plot last year and having some success with the "standard" root crops.  Now I've got the bug and want to try something a bit more adventurous....

Having had the opportunity to double up on plot size, I fancy having a go at growing wheat.

Can anyone advise where to obtain some seed for spring wheat?  Any variety recommendations? 

I'm in the West of Scotland so a variety that likes the dark, cold and being underwater would be ideal!!

Any advice much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Malky.

coldandwindy

• Experienced Member
Re: Wheat experiment.....
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2021, 09:51 »
Hi all,

I'm quite new to the allotment scene, getting my first plot last year and having some success with the "standard" root crops.  Now I've got the bug and want to try something a bit more adventurous....

Having had the opportunity to double up on plot size, I fancy having a go at growing wheat.

Can anyone advise where to obtain some seed for spring wheat?  Any variety recommendations? 

I'm in the West of Scotland so a variety that likes the dark, cold and being underwater would be ideal!!

Any advice much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Malky.

Hi Malky

Generally speaking, the older the variety, the easier it is to grow on a small scale.

The best place to get information about heritage wheat varieties is the Brockwell Bake charity --

The Brockwell Bake - from sowing to baking - S. London 2008-2021

Varieties vary but no wheat likes to be really wet. Hence the majority of grain grown in the West of Scotland has always been oats. For a first grain experiment I'd be more inclined to try them.?

What is your soil like?

Bere and other old barley types are tougher than new varieties but they still like dry/free draining soil. Bere has lighter heads so is less likely to flop over in wind.