Die-back or Blight?

• 5 Replies

rw3272

Die-back or Blight?
« on: August 11, 2010, 12:29 »
Its my first year growing potatoes  :)

What does normal haulm die-back look like compared to blight?

My second earlies (Charottes) are all in, blemish free and delicious!  My maincrops are PFA and desiree.  Some are still lush and green but some have flopped overand are starting to yellow.  There are also some brown patches on the leaves thought they are not "moudly" looking on the underside.  I dug up one of each today and got great yields of big potatoes again blemish free.

Blight map doesn't show any cases nearby (but also not many scouts), but we have had a couple of weeks with smith period after smith period.

Any thoughts?
Rachael

JohnB47

Re: Die-back or Blight?
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2010, 13:41 »
Just to give the background to my opinion first - my experience so far is two seasons of growing spuds and four of growing tomatoes. In that time I've seen blight on tomatoes twice and none on spuds.

If the visible evidence of blight on spuds is anything like that on tomatoes (and I believe it to be more or less identical) then, to my mind, if you had blight on your spuds you would know all about it. Unlike dieback - a gradual yellowing and drying off of the leaves and stalks starting about two or three weeks prior to them being ready to lift - blight would show as horrible blackish patches everywhere on the plants, together with wilting and perhaps a rotting moistness. The spuds themselves would be rotten too, I think.

As I say, I've never actually seen it on spuds but I think it would be obvious. Others with more experience will confirm, I hope.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2010, 13:45 »
It sounds like natural die back to me...........it's the mouldy ring around the patches that are the confirmation of blight I reckon.....which you haven't got, as you say :)