Leaf problems

• 15 Replies

LynnieK

Leaf problems
« on: May 11, 2012, 13:01 »
Hello
I'm Lynnie and I'm new! I live in the north west highlands of Scotland.

I have noticed a few leaf problems this week in my polytunnel and wondered if I could get some help please (I am a beginner).

The first one is mildew, I think, and I've been told I need to cut off the affected leaves (it's a courgette plant, not yet flowerd/fruited).

The second one - I am not sure if it is a deficiency of some kind, or cucumber mosaic virus. It's on two or three of my cucrbits (not the cucumbers though)

The third one is on my tomato plants (not all) and I can't find any similar photos on google when I had a quick look.

Am really hoping theses are fixable problems :-(

Any help much appreciated.
Mildew.jpg
Yellow-leaves.jpg
tomato.jpg

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Leaf problems
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2012, 13:13 »
Welcome to the site  :D

Although not relevant to your specific questions here, in future it might be relevant to remember whereabouts you are - could you add your general location to your forum profile?  Just click your username to edit the profile  :)

Now, to your piccies.

1. This doesn't look like the mildew I've had before, unless it is very very early stages.   I wonder if it's a nutrient deficiency.  What compost are the courgettes in, and what have you fed them with (if anything)?

2. Looks like a mosaic virus to me.  You're supposed to remove all affected plant material and wash hands / tools before touching unaffected plants.  However, when I've had it before, it hasn't been too extensive and I've just let the plant get on with it.

3. Doesn't look like blight.  How cold is it in your polytunnel overnight?
« Last Edit: May 11, 2012, 13:16 by Yorkie »
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

LynnieK

« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2012, 13:42 »
Hello Yorkie!

I've updated my location.