Small Onions!

• 10 Replies

redj

Small Onions!
« on: May 28, 2012, 08:30 »
Hello all

First post here by the way, looks like a helpful kind of place!

I am completely new to veg growing this year having moved into a house with a large enough garden to accomodate 2 decent size patches.

Anyway the first thing I planted was onion sets. They went in the ground around 16 March so they have been in soil for 70 days or so. Yesterday I had a dig down to the bulb and there is hardly anything other than a small white end, as you would expect from a spring onion.

Would you expect a large bulb by now?

My soil is not the best- I have reclaimed it from overgrown grass so it has had no exposure to sun or frost for many years- until this February when I dug it out. It is also heavy clay in places although I have dug through lots of rotted manure.

Any help much appreciated.

Thanks

JayG

• Global Moderator
Re: Small Onions!
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2012, 09:04 »
Welcome to the forums!  :)

Bit concerned about your phrase "dig down to the bulb" - how deep did you plant your sets (should have been only just buried at the most, so any bulb, or lack of bulb, should be visible without digging.)
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

BabbyAnn

« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2012, 09:21 »

Would you expect a large bulb by now?

hello redj and welcome.  Summer growing onions won't be ready until about August so I wouldn't expect a large bulb at this stage.  Also, depending on your location, quite a few areas had a cool wet April/early May so that would have slowed growth down a little.

Japanese onions planted in autumn however, will be bulbing up this month and ready to lift in a few weeks time - perhaps those are the ones you are thinking of?

redj

« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2012, 09:59 »