Asparagus distances and flower-planting

• 5 Replies

VioletSky

Asparagus distances and flower-planting
« on: February 08, 2010, 09:52 »
I'm completely new to allotments, so please go easy with me!

I want to plant an asparagus bed in front of my sitting area. Reading up, it sounds like there are only a few months of asparagus harvesting, then nothing. I know this sounds silly but I don't want an ugly bed looking like it's just waiting for winter, because it'll be the most prominent feature in my view.

Also I don't like the big thick spears and would prefer lots of smaller spears. I read somewhere that planting them closer might result in smaller spears.

So my 2 questions are:

1. Can I plant begonias at the edges of the bed just to brighten it up, or will that upset the asparagus?

2. The bed is 4' wide. Can I plant 2 asparagus along the 4' width, so they'll be 16" in, with a 16" gap between each other?

Thanks in advance! :)

gillie

Re: Asparagus distances and flower-planting
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2010, 10:04 »
After you finish cutting your asparagus you have to allow the spears to grow up to their full height, so during the summer an asparagus bed looks like a ferny hedge, perhaps three feet high.  This then dies down, going a lovely golden colour, in the autumn. 

Do not plant anything in the bed which will cause root disturbance to the asparagus which has big thick roots, so no digging holes, but I don't think a few hardy annuals sown in situ would do any harm.

Your spacings sound about right.  I think the thickness of the spears depends on the variety and how well fed the bed is.  Quite frankly I would worry about spears being too thick if it should happen!  The spears get thinner as the season wears on.

Salmo

« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2010, 10:30 »
You should stop cutting the spears in mid June. Expect the ferms to grow to 5/6 ft high. Cut them off when they turn brown in the Winter.