Total Newbie!

• 8 Replies

DaveM

Total Newbie!
« on: June 11, 2009, 14:09 »
Hi All!

Apologies if this is in the wrong place, but I am a complete novice when it comes to growing. The most I've done is basil and chilli's in the kitchen, and even then they decided being compost was better than living in my flat!

But - not detered I have just signed up to my very first 1/2 plot of allotment space!

Only problem is, being a total novice I have no idea where to begin! The plot hasn't been touched in 15 months and so is, as you can imagine, like a forest! There are a couple of things I would like to try and salvage if possible - one is a rosemary bush and the other is some blackerry bushes.

If anybody can give me some advice on clearing the plot and what to plant at this time of the year that'd be great! I'm not kidding myself and thinking I can get 100% of the land utilised, but wouldn't mind trying to get some potatoes or onions going?

Are there any tips on clearing, or is it just a case of hands and knees and ripping?

What can I sow at this time of year?

Also, I need to invest in equipment - what sorts of things should I look at getting now?

I appreciate that I'm asking a lot so please feel free to point me in the direction of books, websites or other posts! I'm not afraid of doing a little 'digging'!!! :0)

Thanks all in advance!

(great site by the way!)

Trillium

Re: Total Newbie!
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2009, 15:21 »
Invest in a decent garden fork which makes digging up weed roots a lot easier. With a fork you also take time to find any other treasures worth saving and moving elsewhere on your plot.
A good spade will help you turn the soil or mix in amendments. A watering jug will be handy if there are no hosepipes on your allotment.
Then the usuals: hat, bucket to cart away rocks or whatever, flask of tea/water.
If weeds are quite high, borrow or hire a strimmer to get them down to size.