Soil going green in pots

• 22 Replies

Broadhaven

• Experienced Member
Soil going green in pots
« on: May 11, 2009, 21:34 »
Can anyone tell me why my soil in some of my seed pots goes green ? Am I overwatering them? If so is there a usual rule as to when they need water? Sorrry if this sounds basic. ::)

Janeymiddlewife

Re: Soil going green in pots
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2009, 21:36 »
I'm no expert, but almost certainly overwatering - are you using rain or tapwater? Watering on top of the pots or from underneath, how much & how often?
someone else may have other ideas, I'm sure - 1 opinion would be soooo boring!  :lol:

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2009, 21:39 »
It does rather sound as though you're overwatering, yes.

I tend to water the compost initially before sowing, then leave it until seeds are up.  If the pot is light when you lift it up, it needs watering.  Otherwise, it's probably ok
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Broadhaven

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2009, 21:48 »
Hi
I am using rain water and watering when they look dry, but not lifting them up. Should I scrap the green off or will it not harm them?

Eatyourgreens

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2009, 21:48 »
When I bought a bag of compost early on in the year it was extremely heavy because it had been badly stored and become wet, even though it had dried out to near normal when I used it almost every pot full had developed a green slimy top regardless of how I watered. With no change in watering techniques things have gone back to normal with different supplies.

Bob

Cazzy

« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2009, 00:05 »
I'm sure this is caused by using rainwater, its to do with algae if I remember rightly and it causes no harm to the plants.

Maybe someone more experienced can confirm that though.
What if the Hokey Cokey IS what its all about...

blackbob

• Experienced Member