First early's, Second Early's, Main crop? Chitting? help ???

• 14 Replies

Dan

• Experienced Member
Hiya veg lovers !
i used to be on here way back last year was getting an allotment but didnt in the end as i was moving....moved...and have gone back to uni studying a degree in "Countryside management"...am having to move back in with my mum to do it and we have just bought a nice country house...so i finally get my OWN veg patch ( ok so needs a lot of quick work over the next few weeks and the "grand plan/raised beds" etc will have to wait until next season)

Anyhow...having only grown patio container herbs and  veg before ( toms, herbs, chilli peppers etc etc) im new to the world of spuds.

I have just bought ...seed potato's...First earlies, Second earlies and main crop.
Now? chitting ...i know people say dont bother but im in between moving and feel i want "Something" to be going on even if its just some chitting spuds...but....do you chit all of them now? first, second and main?...or just the earlies now....seconds later on and mains much later? and do you plant them in the three stages or do you put all of them in at same time and they come ready at different stages? and also...with this sudden cold spell...should i be chitting yet at all and when do you plant?

sorry for sooooo many questions in my first ( new/back again) post?

Dan ;)

John

• Administrator
    • Low Cost Living
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2007, 01:16 »
Welcome back Dan - wondered what had happened to you.

I but a brief article on growing potatoes on the site at:
http://www.allotment-garden.org/vegetables_and_herbs/Potatoes.php

Notice the imaginative file name  :)

Suggest you peruse (being as you're educated thought I'd best talk fancy) and then come back for what still puzzles -

My feeling is chitting early potatoes is worth it and debatable for main crop potatoes but you know 3 gardeners will always give a minimum of 4 opinions.
Check out our books - ideal presents