New Plot + Ideas needed.

• 8 Replies

pete

New Plot + Ideas needed.
« on: April 15, 2006, 12:37 »
Hi guys,

I am new here and have just atken on a new plot. It has not been used for a long time and is covered with tall grass and very established brambles.

Question 1: What is the best way to get rid of brambles and keep them away?
Question 2: Is a mulch applied over the top of the grass with black weed supresant over the top of that going to kill off the grass and allow me to grow some veg whilst I deal with the brembles?
Thanks in advance.

Jake

• Rockers
New Plot + Ideas needed.
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2006, 20:06 »
Hi pete

I am new to this too but me and another guy got an allotment around end of July last year. We decided that it was too late to get anything going (this wasn’t true but hey) so we rotavated all the weeds into the ground on a hot day. We did this again another 2 times last year. We did get some cabbages in but we lost them due to lack of care.

We have probably got an emerging problem with couch grass now because of just basically cutting up all the roots. The other guys on the allotments said they didn’t know what else we should have done but after a couple of years of heavy weeding things should start to improve.

I may be wrong but if the mulch you use is organic I think the weeds might just lie dormant until you remove the plastic, and then they’ll have loads of nutrients to feed off. I’d just lay the plastic and start digging out small plots putting all the grasses and brambles on the compost. I’m sure using a bit of weed killer before you lay the plastic would be a good idea, others may disagree and it might be against your ethos.

Not too sure about keeping brambles away, you probably have to dig out the roots. We don’t seem to have a problem with that though, so maybe smashing them with a rotavator kills them. I don’t really know.