french dwarf beans

• 30 Replies

mat whitlock

french dwarf beans
« on: May 01, 2016, 18:43 »
Hey all

Ive got some seeds of french dwarf beans and was wondering how many of these i can put in each of the  the sq ft gardening squares?

ive come up with a way of securing the poles but unsure how many i can plant in there.
i was thinking 1 in each corner of the square, would that be any good?

cheers all
The purpose of our lives is to be happy

diary comments here :-   http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=123266.0

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: french dwarf beans
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2016, 19:01 »
I'd plant four, 9ins apart in a square , so they aren't right at the edge of the sq ft lines and then drop one in the middle  :D

I've done 5 in a planter, like this, and it worked ok.

Vagabond

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2016, 19:15 »
Ah, interested to read a thread about dwarf beans and how to plant them out (I'm new to veggie gardening).
I've planted some beans in individual pots and put them in/under (?) a cold frame with a view to planting them out once they've germinated. But I'm now wondering if I should have simply put them straight into my raised bed as I did with my broad beans?

mat whitlock

« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2016, 19:17 »
I'd plant four, 9ins apart in a square , so they aren't right at the edge of the sq ft lines and then drop one in the middle  :D

I've done 5 in a planter, like this, and it worked ok.

thanks for that

do they need there own cane, or can i put can each end and string across, a line for each row? if that makes sense

cheers

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2016, 19:42 »
I've never used canes for dwarf beans, so unless you are in a particularly windy spot, I wouldn't bother.

snowdrops

« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2016, 20:08 »
Ah, interested to read a thread about dwarf beans and how to plant them out (I'm new to veggie gardening).