Poultry Leg Rings

• 14 Replies

CDave

• Experienced Member
Poultry Leg Rings
« on: February 02, 2009, 23:23 »
We are struggling to tell the difference between some of our ex-bats. Someone suggested poultry leg rings for easy identification. Some help required and very gratefully accepted.

Experience of leg rings.Easy to get on established/older ex-bats? Will they mind - or peck at the rings. Should I avoid red? And what size do I need?

Sorry - but you will guess that I'm a newbie  :blush:

With Thanks.

nnbreeder

• Experienced Member
Re: Poultry Leg Rings
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2009, 00:29 »
Just be sure to get bands that are a tad larger then the legs are. I have actually seen birds with bands that were grown into the leg.

There are two kinds available here, a numbered flat band and a spiral band that is round with no numbers. For ID purposes I would use the spiral bands and just use different colors for different groups of girls.

Yes they will peck at them for a day or two but after they figure out that they won't come off and can't be eaten they will leave them alone.

Kiwi

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2009, 05:09 »
I was having the same problem as 3 of my minorcas are identical. I got brilliant plastic bands for ours that the ends sort of fit together, they were incredibly easy to get on. My hens never pecked at them or anything.
http://www.trademe.co.nz/Business-farming-industry/Farming-forestry/Poultry/Feeding-watering/auction-200296215.htm
this is what they look like
They come in all sizes, but like nn said just make sure they are a bit bigger than the leg.

nnbreeder

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2009, 06:32 »
Asking questions is the only way to learn. Don't ever be bashful about asking questions, even the most simple things can mean the difference between healthy birds and all out disaster.

kimT

• http://www.thepoultrygarden.com
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2009, 08:51 »