Feeding my new brood

• 6 Replies

mollymawk

Feeding my new brood
« on: February 24, 2012, 22:40 »
Hi there, I'm new to the hen game and am excited about getting some ex-battery chickens fairly soon but wanted to ask advice on feeding. We have a huge amount of vegetable and fruit waste coming from our kitchen and I just wanted to know whether I just throw the peelings into the run raw or whether I have to cook the veggie peelings down to a mush before I give it to them. Also, is doing the peelings once a day with both layer pellets and corn sufficient for them (they are not free range but will have a large outdoor area to roam). Thanks

Mrs Bee

Re: Feeding my new brood
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2012, 22:55 »
If you give fruit or veg to the chickens don't give them too much or early in the day or you won't get many eggs :(

If you give them good quality layers pellets, they everything your chickens need. If you are getting ex bats, I think there are special feeds to perk them up but I don't have ex bats so I am not too sure about that.

I give mine fruit, salad veg and green veg uncooked along with squash and melon seed but other veg I cook down.

The chickens love their treats  :D but if you give them to much or too early they will fill up with treats and not eat their layers pellets, which will result in no eggs :(

Chickens love peas and corn.
Too much fruit will give them the runs :ohmy:

Enjoy your chickens, don't worry they will soon have you trained!  ;)

Tony H

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2012, 04:54 »
Hi you can get an ex-batt food which is more like the food they are used to, but you cant go wrong with layers pellets, just watch that all the birds are eating  :D as far as kitchen scraps go DEFRA rules state no kitchen scraps should be fed to any livestock,  :tongue2: but as said only give a bit in the afternoon and if you give potato peelings you would need to boil them and then mix with layers mash  :D Have fun