How do I do it?

• 4 Replies

markdelmonte

• you need a good shed like...
How do I do it?
« on: June 09, 2009, 22:20 »
hi,
i'm completely new to wine and beer making, and wondered if somebody could give me a few tips on how to get started. i'm basically looking to knock up homebrew in my allotment shed so we can all get boozy at bbq's etc. i haven't got any equpment at all apart from household stuff like buckets and bottles and stuff. i have no idea what i am supposed to be doing. questions include - what do those snake shaped glass things in the top of those bottles do exactly? are they completely necessary? what do I do first?
etc etc. I'm not looking to make anything in particular, just something alcoholic for free! ;)
 any advice would be greatly appreciated!
"i love me lotty me i do"

scabs

• I love the smell of rhubarb in the morning
Re: How do I do it?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2009, 22:54 »
The best advice would be to start with a kit and to buy (or get from the library) a basic starters book. It doesn't cost much to get started, but there's quite a lot to cover - especially when you're not sure what you fancy!

Dandelion wine?
Beer?

Start with CJJ Berry's books and have fun!

spudgun

« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2009, 13:33 »
Hi Markdelmonte,

I'm doing exactly the same. I've just opened my first bottle of home brew beer this afternoon. Little yeasty but quite pleasent.

If your making beer, the very basic is a 25L 'bin', something for the finished beer to go in, steralising equipment (normally a powder), a peice of rubber tube for a syphon, some sugar, and proabbly some sort of kit (for simplicity).

Some people mention that they use old pop bottles for the beer - this is fine if you want to drink 2 liters at a time! If you are going to use glass bottles, bear in mind that you have to buy crown caps and a device to put them onto the bottle.