potatoes

• 9 Replies

norma

potatoes
« on: July 10, 2007, 20:26 »
Due to the flooding in this area I am having to pick my potatoes up now.
I had put in Maris Piper, Edsel Blue and Chieftan  most of them due to be picked in August  a lot of them are rotten through and through some are ok but I am rather duboius of eating them had they been in for the right time I would have had a lovely stock never mind. I have only had my plot since march and have had some lovely peas and courgettes (which were experimental I may say) I have had to get rid of my peas today as the ground was water logged but managed to save a lot of those. I have got a couple of patio apple trees in my plot but the deer have eaten all the bark of them and have got 6 small apples on them. They have eaten my cabbage,sprouts,  and cauliflower all gone so it's a 6ft. fence going up this week to try and stop them. Does anyone else have trouble with deer.
This is my first time on here so Hello Everyone :cry:

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
potatoes
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2007, 21:00 »
Hello Norma  Welcome to the forums.

What a sad post for your first one  :cry:

I hope you are not too disheartened with the flooding and loss of your crops.  You look as if you know how to beat the deer.
I'm sure your'll get a lot of encouragement for the members here.

noshed

potatoes
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2007, 21:22 »
All the best - don't worry it will probably be a drought next year
Self-sufficient in rasberries and bindweed. Slug pellets can be handy.

jimroden

• Experienced Member
potatoes
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2007, 21:50 »
Hi we have picked our first ever crop of potatoes and they all have scab's on them i have read up about them and it's  Streptomyces scabies

This is our first time planting anything in our allotment and was coverd in weeds and all sorts so i expect the soil is contaminated with Streptomyces scabies how do you eradicate it

Jim
Dont tell lies you get in trouble

Ice