Beginner - Globe Artickhokes

• 6 Replies

lmcnabb

« on: September 14, 2006, 08:26 »
Hello – I am a beginner vegetable grower and I would like some help with growing green globe artichokes from seeds.  I recently planted (at the same time in small propagators) seeds of courgettes, squash and globe artichokes.  
Squash and courgettes are doing great – artichokes germinated but a couple of days after they formed two leaves, the leaves all turned brown and the seedlings died.  Do you think this was due to my over watering them?  I pulled them out of the potting mix to look at the root and the seedlings had a thick strong root.

Also – how well do seeds keep – I have bought several packets of lots of different varieties but have only planted say half of each packet.  Given they are pretty cheap – should I plant them all and buy new ones each year, or is it worth keeping them…

Any help very welcome - thanks

supersprout

• Experienced Member
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2006, 08:58 »
hi lmcnabb, I started growing globe artichoke from seed this year and followed advice from a number of peeps on gardening forums. So far:

Sown in modules indoors in August, some packs gave really bad germination, some good - like you lots of varieties. Don't blame yourself!  Try again in Feb :D

You can grow them as annuals - sow in February, then stick them outdoors in a cold frame as seedlings in late March to fool them into thinking they've had a winter, then bring them back into the greenhouse in May, plant out after the last frost. You'll then get a crop in summer. If you don't get horrific frost though, it's less hassle to snuggle the plants up with straw and let them die back over winter.