What to do before the chickens arrive?

• 19 Replies

debih

• Experienced Member
What to do before the chickens arrive?
« on: March 15, 2011, 09:52 »
The run is almost finished now (one last bit of fencing to put up this evening).  The house has been put together and I just want to give it a coat of wood treatment which, providing it stays dry will happen on Thursday.    We need to buy a dustbin to put the food in and something to put the water in (we have some trays to put the food in).  Sawdust for their nest box (is that right?) and their food.

Should I give the house a good scrub out before they arrive and if so what with?

What sort of food would you recommend?

Any other advice for a complete novice?
I always find that work gets in the way of life.

Lindeggs

• A little Kiwi
Re: What to do before the chickens arrive?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2011, 10:31 »
Oh how exciting!   :D

Is the coop an old one that has had poultry in it before?  If it has, it will need a good scrub.  If not, don't bother scrubbing as your girls will soon make a mess of it!

Hillfooter will be along shortly to advise you to make a diatom slurry to help keep the coop clean and reduce the risk of mites.  You paint it on all the perches and wooden bits and it makes the poo really easy to scrape off at cleaning time.

Are you really confident the coop and run are predator-proof?  I'm lucky to live in a country without foxes but it makes me very sad when I read on here about the damage foxes can do and the grief they can cause.

Now all that's left is for you to find a comfy chair so you can sit out by your run with a cup of tea and watch your new chickens settle into their home!

Lindeggs

• A little Kiwi
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2011, 10:38 »
Oh I just realised I missed some bits: