tilly and dilly wont go to bed !!!

• 6 Replies

DollyB

tilly and dilly wont go to bed !!!
« on: November 16, 2011, 07:28 »
Hi, my name is Dolly, I am very new at having chickens,my husband built me a lovely ark for our two Silkies which we have now had for six weeks but as they have come from a bungalow and now moved to a house, we have been putting them to bed and getting them up and downstairs in the mornings. We are now getting very concerned that after a couple of weeks of doing this, they still dont do it themselves, (we have now left them for a month to see if they have got the idea.) What do we do its getting very cold out there and we dont want our girls catching a chill, can anyone help us please. We have tried putting food on the rungs of the ladder and left food upstairs.

Lewjam

• Experienced Member
Re: tilly and dilly wont go to bed !!!
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2011, 13:07 »
I suppose questions:

1) is does the coop have a ramp they can get up simply.  IE how do they get to the upstairs bit - is it steep, does it have gipper rungs?

2)also you mentioned getting them up in the morning?  All you should do is open the pop hole and let them get out them selves?  That way they know where home is.

3) If both of the above have been done, have you tried putting a torch in there turned on an 30mins orso before dusk.  The light will attract them in.

4) Do you have red mite issues - as birds will be reluctanct to go to bed if you have redmite
I hate signatures but love irony

DollyB

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2011, 18:25 »
thanks for your reply, we have tried all of those, they dont have red mite either, do you think we should carry on putting them to bed.

Casey76

« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2011, 19:04 »
They will eventually get around to putting themselves to bed.

I think it took my sabelpoots about 6 weeks!