Newby needing advice please

• 3 Replies

Outofdepth

Newby needing advice please
« on: May 08, 2011, 20:06 »
Hello there,

I am new to the site and to allotment gardening. At the moment I feel totally out of my depth as I have no experience.  :blink:  We got an allotment in December, had really bad snow and frost here in North-West, so far clearing site and sorting years of neglect.

I wonder if you good people would have advice for the following....though more questions are bound to follow.

Garlic: ( not sure what type it was, bought from garden centre)

I followed video from this site on how to grow garlic, I have 6 cloves planted in my green house in compost. They are now starting to shoot up, I have prepared a bed for them next to my shallots, which are doing well.

1. Is it ok to plant them out, if so any tips welcome and

2. Are they ok near shallots.....also when should I harvest them.

Herbs from seed/ plants.

I like the idea of having a Permanent  herb garden, I am currently growing chives , thyme, dill and basil from seed, in the green house which seems to be coming along.  

3. When is best to plant out and can you have a permanent herb garden. I am aware softer herbs will die out during seasons, but rosemary etc should be ok. Any advice?

We are very newand lack experience and knowledge, we planted out lots of seeds (carrot, parsnips)  to quickly learn that this was not good idea due to lack of knowledge, we were unable to tell seedlings from weeds. I dug over it all today, cleared the section of allocated site again and have decided as this is our first year we will just prepare the beds, and buy plants already started off by others with the knowledge.

4. I wonder though, is it too late to plant carrot seeds and parsnips in green house and then plant out later in the year?

5. Same question for cabbage/ Broccoli .  ( We are so late as only bought green house last month.

Corn :

6. I am looking to grow corn on the cob, advice please!