Compost help - what does peat based compost look like?

• 7 Replies

cjskts

Compost help - what does peat based compost look like?
« on: February 07, 2011, 22:28 »
I bought some compost at the weekend and being a complete novice (starting 2nd season) i think i may have bought the wrong stuff. It said it had John Innes in it so thought it was good. But it has huge lumps in it and big twigs etc.

What does peat free look like and does it sound like what i have in unusable for seedlings? Its called Easigrow if thats any help. Thought it was a good bargain, but i'm starting to wonder now.

solway cropper

Re: Compost help - what does peat based compost look like?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2011, 22:38 »
If you sieve it to get rid of the big bits it should be fine. Some composts do seem to have more rubbish in them than others but its easy enough to get rid of.

Peat-free can look like just about anything...it depends what the base material is. Sometimes they use shredded wood, sometimes coir, sometimes green waste from recycling bins.

Saying it has John Innes in a compost is wrong because the name refers to specific formulations which stop being John Innes if you mix them with something else.

best answer to the compost question is to make your own if you can.

cjskts

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2011, 22:58 »
We've tried making our own and its gone wrong! lol. Bit sloppy. Found we put too much green waste in. So at half term hubby has the delightful job of emptying the compost bin, mixing more brown cardboard etc in and mix and put into a different bin. LOVELY!! lol

Think i might buy something different and use this to mix in the beds when making raised beds. I have 3x75l bags, dont fancy sieving it all! lol

compostqueen

« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2011, 23:02 »
I think making your own seed sowing compost is a bit much for a novice, and there's no harm in buying it in for seed sowing purposes