What should my light Sussex weigh at 16 weeks please?

• 13 Replies

mummyhen61

Hi all, I'm very new to this chicken game, but loving my 3 girls, 2 Light Sussex and 1 White Rock.  My question may seem really daft, but does anybody out there know roughly what they should be weighing at 16 weeks?  They are all eating well, alert and nosy - they are in a run most of the week as I'm at work, then out all weekend,  and loving it!  They all feel very light though, and so this evening we weighed them (or rather, my son got on the scales and was ceremoniously handed a chick - my girls are all clever, but I didn't think that they'd voluntarily get on the scales...)
Seriously though, I would really appreciate a bit of info if anyone knows.
Thank you in anticipation. :unsure:

bantam novice

Re: What should my light Sussex weigh at 16 weeks please?
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2011, 21:32 »
Hello Mummyhen61 and welcome to the forum  :)
I'm not an expert myself in how much a chicken should weigh at 16 weeks but I'm sure someone will be along to help you.
In the meantime good luck with your hens  :D
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

binghamd

« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2011, 21:41 »
Cant help with what weight they should be, but worried how accurate your weighing was.  It was suggested to me to get a box, weigh it and then put the chicken into the box, close the lid, wait for it to settle down and note the weight. That will be more accurate.
If I remember correctly, mine were quite light at that stage and didn't get a lot bigger until they started laying the following year.
Hope this helps. Enjoy.

Lindeggs

• A little Kiwi
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2011, 03:48 »
I would also wonder about the accuracy of the scales (I assume you're using bathroom scales?)  But surprisingly I can tell you exactly what my Light Sussex weighed at that age!