Mice

• 9 Replies

minnowburn

Mice
« on: April 24, 2012, 22:09 »
Hi all,

Im new to goining this site but looked at it many times and think its great, hope you can help with this one? I have built a new greenhouse at home and now have 3 field mice nesting in it, will they eat my produce? dont want to kill them as they have been in the garden for about 5 years now and like watching them run around, this is the first year ive planted veg at home and a bit concerned, I have a small alotment well away from home that I grow in as a community alotment with the National Trust and its great fun.

Hope someone can advise.

Thanks and best regards

Keith

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Mice
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2012, 22:11 »
Welcome to the site  :D

I'm going to move this across to Growing in Greenhouses for people to see it there  :)
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

shokkyy

• Mishka
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2012, 23:53 »

I have built a new greenhouse at home and now have 3 field mice nesting in it, will they eat my produce?

Oh, absolutely :) Last year I lost my entire strawberry crop (8X4 foot bed), parsnip crop and carrot crop to Mr. Mouse. This year they've made a beeline for my pea seeds. I don't kill them. I use box traps dotted around my beds, which are extremely effective, and relocate any captives to a gateway a mile down the lane. But frankly the mouse population in my garden is so big that it doesn't make much of a dent. The only effective way to stop the little critters taking your crop is to make a good barricade around anything on their menu of favourite foods. I'm currently constructing a cage for my strawberry bed and tunnels for my pea seeds and parsnips from 4mm wire mesh.

arugula

• Winner - prettiest sunflower 2011
  • hic svnt leones
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2012, 06:25 »