FEED MIX

• 6 Replies

parthenipirate

FEED MIX
« on: November 28, 2009, 18:17 »
I live on a Greek island and cannot get any premixed feed. My chickens (who have to be kept locked up most of the time because of dogs), Ducks and Geese have only ever been fed on starter feed, crushed and uncrushed corn. Is there anyone that could give me any idea of things to mix for them? To improve their diet.I am new to owning these, but have had some succes with hatching chicks 20 so far, and have the goose sitting on 10 eggs now.

ehs284

Re: FEED MIX
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2009, 09:15 »
Hi PP,
You really need local advice as (I guess) your climate is very different to UK. What do local farmers feed their birds? If there is no-one there to help, perhaps you could tell us what foods are available and a balanced diet should be computable. When you say 'locked up' do you mean inside (no sunshine/no vitamin D) or just restrained to a run? Do they have grit in a separate dish?

Rubellite

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2009, 18:57 »
Hi PPirate

http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=31884.msg381613#msg381613

Have a look at this old post. IMO the best diet for chickens is one that they can find themselves but of course if yours are confined then they may be lacking in some aspects which may not become evident until later.
Good luck.  :)

parthenipirate

« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2009, 15:46 »
Hi PP,
You really need local advice as (I guess) your climate is very different to UK. What do local farmers feed their birds? If there is no-one there to help, perhaps you could tell us what foods are available and a balanced diet should be computable. When you say 'locked up' do you mean inside (no sunshine/no vitamin D) or just restrained to a run? Do they have grit in a separate dish?

Hi ehs