what do you all do with your dried fruit and veg

• 4 Replies

juliec

• Experienced Member
what do you all do with your dried fruit and veg
« on: September 26, 2013, 12:39 »
Hi all,

Ive been reading how some of you are all busy drying your gluts of fruit and veg, do you all have electric drying machines and what do you use the dried fruit and veg for.  Oh and how do you store it?

Sorry to be naive but Im still learning an awful lot from you all.

Thanks for your patience and help.

Juliec

New shoot

• Global Moderator
Re: what do you all do with your dried fruit and veg
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2013, 13:47 »
Quite a few of us have dehydrators and if you do a search on that, you find quite a few threads on here where they are discussed.  The Busy Time thread in this section mentions them a fair bit as well.

I store my stuff in glass jars, but any airtight container will do.  I use dried veg a lot when I do slow-cooker meals like chilli or stews and its very useful in soups as well.  Tomato slices are good in salads, rice dishes and the like.  Dried greens are great to add to curries instead of spinach.  The uses are endless really once you start exploring the options.

Dried fruit is nice to eat straight out of the jar, but is also good on cereal, for baking or eating as a pud with yogurt, or ice-cream  :)

Trillium

« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2013, 14:55 »
Like New Shoot, I too store mine in glass jars because poly containers do leak air over time and eventually spoil items. And rodents can easily chew through poly.  I have the added advantage of having a food vacuum sealer unit that removes air from the jars HERE with a special lid attachment and I can store and reseal those items for many years. The unit uses the 2 piece lids for mason jars.

To clarify for some, dehydrated veg and fruits are used as food staples in themselves, never as MRE's (ready to eat meals).