What to do with cloches?

• 7 Replies

forester

What to do with cloches?
« on: February 09, 2011, 09:41 »
Hi everybody I am new here  :)

I am an novice veg grower down in Hampshire. I grow all the usual suspects that are easy and tasty! I had a year off from growing last year as time was very limited but after having to spend £2 on about 5 runner beans when I was used to having a plate full of them I am back this year!

I have 2 cloches in the garage ready for action but I don't know what to do with them! Can someone give me some help please. Can I use them now? Do yo need to lift them up and water underneath? Do I start stuff in the greenhouse or straight in the ground under the cloche?

Help please :D

aelf

• idndtdodaftl
Re: What to do with cloches?
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2011, 09:56 »
it really depends what you intend to grow, I would say. A cloche will raise the temp of the soil by a few degrees at this time of year, and will protect shoots and seedlings from frosts. Using a cloche can give you a head-start by a few weeks but in my experience, seeds planted later or brought on in the greenhouse usually catch up. I have some carrots under a cloche at the moment - they went in last weekend, but this is a bit of an experiment.

My cloches tend to go over seedlings that otherwise might be lost if the weather isn't as good as expected for the time of year, for example if March turns out to be a very cold or windy month, the cloches go on. They come off again as soon as the weather picks up.

Hope that helps  :)
There's more comfrey here than you can shake a stick at!

http://www.wedigforvictory.co.uk/dig_icon.gif[/img]

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2011, 10:19 »
The trouble with cloches, on my windy site, is that they don't stay where they're put :(
In my garden, which is more sheltered, they are useful for covering newly tranplanted stuff from harsh weather at planting time.

forester

« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2011, 10:25 »