plum tree

• 5 Replies

Matthew Gayles

plum tree
« on: June 29, 2010, 17:20 »
Hi, hope somebody can help

We bought a plum tree for our new garden in february this year and it seems everything has been against us from the begining.

Firstly, the soil here is very stoney (builders?) so we decided to buy a veriety that would be suitable in a pot ( Csar on a pixie root stock). Secondly, Beetles attacked in May/June and we think they were June beetles - we are blaming them but it could be unrelated. The damage appeared as tiny little holes over a good portion of the leaves - at the time the tree was covered in said beetles.
Finally the beetles have gone, the weather as im sure you all know has been rather nice of late.
With this in mind i have tried to make sure it has enough water as its in a pot, i water most days
( im a nurse so this is as often as i can with shifts ).

So, have i kille the tree somehow? oh also i gave it a wash when i bought it with Growing success winter tree wash+ - i says its totally natural and i mixed it to the correct volumes so i dont think its this but.....

i attach pictures

Hope you can help !
DSC01314.JPG
DSC01315.JPG
« Last Edit: June 29, 2010, 18:03 by Matthew Gayles »

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: plum tree
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2010, 17:40 »
Sorry, no pictures

This thread tells you how to do so ...

http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=19476.0
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Spana

« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2010, 18:26 »
The pot looks a bit on the small side to me :unsure: But you're right, it doesn't look happy :(

I'm wondering if the label on the tree was right, can you get plums on pixie :unsure:

just done a search and apparently you can :wub:
« Last Edit: June 29, 2010, 18:28 by Spana »

Matthew Gayles

« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2010, 18:47 »