Questions from a total noob, hope they arent too stoopid!

• 4 Replies

balfie

Hi, waiting to take possesion of my allotment.   :D
My previous gardening experience consists entirely of what we have grown in pots, mostly chillis.  Our garden is a small paved yard so have not really grown anything properly before.

I have several questions, hope they arent too stupid!  I have had a look round this site, cant find the answers but excuse me if I just havent looked in the right places...

1. When I get my plot, I am planning to weed it, dig it over and add something to 'freshen' the soil and replenish it.  Can I just buy bags of compost and dig them in?  Or do I need to get something more 'concentrated' such as manure?

2.  Why do people grow flowers on their allotments?  Is it just because they look nice, or do they serve a purpose - is it recommended to grow flowers alongside the fruit and veg?  I wonder if they give the soil a rest?  And maybe are they to help attract bees?

3.  How do you start a compost heap?  Is it as simple as chucking weeds etc in a pile and waiting for them to rot?  Or do you need to do more to it?  I get the impression that managing a compost heap might be a lot more complicated then you first think..

4.  I have seen some plots sectioned off with large planks of wood.  Why do they do this?  What is the benefit?  I dont know whether I should be sectioning my plot into smaller sections with planks of wood, or whether do I not need to bother?

I think thats all the questions I have... for now!

Any other tips or words of advice will be greatfully recieved, I am completely new at this  :)

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Questions from a total noob, hope they arent too stoopid!
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2012, 21:46 »
There are no stupid questions on here (although it is sometimes easier to post separate threads rather than lots in one thread  ;) :) )