Chick with leg problem

• 9 Replies

trinamc

• Experienced Member
Chick with leg problem
« on: September 11, 2010, 10:23 »
Hi I am new to chicken keeping, I have 7, 3 week old buff orpington chicks they are all very healthy apart from 1 it has a leg that is twisted to the side, it does not appear to be in pain and is eating and drinking, this has only happened over the last couple of days. Should I be worried and is there anything I can do to correct it.

NormandyMary

Re: Chick with leg problem
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2010, 19:39 »
Hi there. Welcome to our world. I think that Joyfull will move you over to the other site, where all the problem solving goes on. One thing, pictures always help in making a diagnosis, so any chance you could post one asap to assist. Im afraid Im no good with baby chicks, I always get older birds. Im sure someone will give you good advice though. Keep us informed re little one's progress wont you?!

Mary.

NormandyMary

« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2010, 15:14 »
Hey folks, can anyone help this new member with their problem please? Im no good with baby chooks.

Mary.

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2010, 17:19 »
Grannie, Joyfull, and many others here have experience with young birds.  I'm not sure how they've missed this question.  Thanks for the reminder Mary !

trinamc

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2010, 10:18 »
Hi

Just thought I would update you, chick still seems to be ok, after talking to an expert in raising chicks his(not sure what he is yet so call them all he's) his leg has been splinted and it seems to be having the desired effect but only time will tell. Thanks for the replies and I will try to keep you up to date.  :)

Jeanette

« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2010, 11:11 »