Think my new chicken is poorly with worms - what to do

• 5 Replies

HelenMckenzie

• Our Dolly & Ginger
Think my new chicken is poorly with worms - what to do
« on: October 25, 2011, 22:00 »
Hi,
I'm very new to this chicken lark, we had a random chook turn up in our garden a week & half ago, we couldn't find the owner so decided to keep it and brought her a friend on sunday!  We took the chook that arrived in our garden with us so they might be able to tell us what she is, they didn't know the exact breed but said she was a black pure breed bantam, approx 2 years old. they also said that she might have worms as she has a bit of a mucky bottom.

I went to my local pet shop and asked for worming stuff for chickens, they gave me something called verm-x.  I have been giving this to them for about 3 days now, but am worried the old chicken that probably has worms isn't getting the treatment as I soak bread in it then give it to them, they have a bowl each, but they don't seem to be that fussed with it (it smells really strong and rancid !!!).  What I didn't realize is this is a herbal remidy and im not sure how effective it is.

I have noticed on clearing out the choop each day of and another covered enclosure they have from droppings that hers are quite runny and messy now and today she just didn't seem herself at all, she wasn't even that fussed on her mealworms which she normally goes mental for.

I have just ordered some flubenvet, which wont arrive for 3-5 working days and am very worried that if she has got worms the infestation might be bad it could be fatal for her.......

If she is still ok by the time the flubenvet arrives i'm very unsure how to administer it as we use layered pellets and they say you should mix it with their daily feed (we just leave feed in a feeder, we dont have a daily amount.......????

Any advice would be very welcome as I am quite worried  :(

Sassy

Re: Think my new chicken is poorly with worms - what to do