Advice needed

• 7 Replies

Karhog

Advice needed
« on: February 26, 2012, 17:42 »
Hello Everyone- You may not remember but my chook Bertha has been poorly and for the last three weeks I have been 'nursing' her back to health. (fingers crossed)
She has completed a course of Anti Biotics and I have also been treating for Cocci as a precaution (3 days left to go)
Her appetite is gradually picking up but I am still going out of my way to find stuff that she will eat. She is still very underweight. Her poohs have improved massivley from what they were but I have noticed she seems to be pooping out lashes every now and then.
I have also noticed her comb has begun to flop a bit to one side though it's still a lovely red colour- eyes are bright.
Do you think this is just a by product of her having not been well?  She seems happy to scratch and peck around the garden with her friends.

helens-hens

Re: Advice needed
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2012, 13:55 »
I am no expert but I would say that by itself, the floppy comb, providing it is still red shouldn't be a problem though I would keep an eye on her.

Not so sure though about pooping lashes every now and again. I thought that once they have produced 1 lash then that is effectively the end of the hen's laying life.

Is she still laying? Also are you sure they are lashes?
Helen

Karhog

« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2012, 15:15 »
Hi- thanks for replying.
They look like lashes but I can't be certain. She definately doesn't seem to be laying at the moment- Last laid pre moult about 2-3 months ago. Unsure if she ever will again as she is an ex bat.
Have thought maybe egg peritonitis but what other symptoms would their be?
I always thought they walked more 'upright' with this and had a swollen abdomen?

helens-hens

« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2012, 15:31 »
Apparently 1 of the main signs of egg peritonitis is that the hen appears to waddle when walking (like a duck), and they can have a swollen abdomen as well.