Cherry Wine

• 2 Replies

clarebear

• Experienced Member
    • http://thewindowshopaholic.blogspot.com/2008_08_01_archive.html
Cherry Wine
« on: May 01, 2008, 18:25 »
Hello guys

I am going to be trying my first hand at winemaking this year. I have a cherry tree in the garden and would like to eventually use the cherries from the tree to make wine. It will be a few years before the tree starts producing cherries i reckon so i thought i migh practice with some from the local fruit and veg stall.

Does anyone have a very detailed recipe for cherry wine. One that a total novice will be able to follow
I don't have a drink problem. I drink, I get drunk, I pass out. No Problem.

flatcap

• Experienced Member
Cherry Wine
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2008, 07:25 »
hi clarebear,

it might be worth investing in c.j.j.berry first steps

in winemaking book, we got it when we first started and its easy to follow.

cherry wine (medium)

2 kilos red cherries
          1.3 kilos sugar
          pectic enzyme 1 teaspoon
          4.5 litres water
          yeast and nutrient

stone the cherries.crush the fruit into bowl or bucket.pour over 6 pints of boiling water.mash cherries well.

when cool add pectic enzyme.leave for 2 days stirring daily ,then strain onto sugaradd yeast and nutrient stir well.

leave for 24hours covered in a warm place,then put into demijohn,if needed use cold water to bring wine up to bottom of the neck of demijohn.

then leave it to ferment ,racking when the fermentation has just about stopped

excuse any spelling mistakes ,bit early in the morning for copying out of a book

Tinbasher

• Experienced Member
Cherry Wine
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2008, 22:34 »
Quote from: "flatcap"
hi clarebear,

it might be worth investing in c.j.j.berry first steps

in winemaking book, we got it when we first started and its easy to follow.