Hen with nasty eye infection / big vet bill - advice please?

• 16 Replies

bigdavenorcott

Hi all - first time posting, but I've used the site a lot - I hope you can help me make a decision. I'm pretty new at this chicken game, we've had 4 hens since the spring - more as pets that lay eggs than just for the eggs, as we've got a couple of young children that love them. Apologies for the length of the post!

Anyway, to cut to the chase - one of the hens developed an eye problem 2 weeks ago - very swollen (like a marble size) and leaking clear fluid. You couldn't see the eye itself, just lids. Took it to the vets who wasn't sure what the problem was, but gave me a 10-day course of antibiotics and asked me to bring it back if the swelling reduced so he could see what was going on.

After a week or so on the ABs the thing went down overnight, I think something burst rather than went down gradually (I should say at this point that the chicken has been behaving fairly normally all along, eating OK and seeming happy enough). Now I can get a look I see there is no eye there, just some yellow bits - yuck. Looks like probably pus in what was the eyeball.

Took her back to the vets, who suggested 2 options - keep her on antibiotics and hope it sorts itself out; or operate and remove the eye. The latter I would judge to have a considerably better chance of success, but obviously still risky.

The operation would be £150. Now I don't want to seem tight, but I've already spend £50 at the vets, and we're not particularly well off! I'm just not sure what to do for the best. I feel responsible for the hen's wellbeing, naturally - and she's also my son's favourite (had to be didn't it). But if I drop £200 for a chicken the first time one gets ill, what happens in the future? I can't keep doing that often or we'll be looking at 10 quid an egg.