yummy treats xxxx

• 19 Replies

dawnie77

yummy treats xxxx
« on: June 24, 2011, 23:34 »
Hello all, im new to keeping chicken and so far seem to be doing well, think i might have the bug already lol there so relaxing to watch.

Was just wondering what yummy treats i could buy or make that they will enjoy???? ive read yougurt with oats(an they be just breakfast plain porrige oats?)
Any idea im sure my chicks will appreciate
Thanks
Dawn
 :)

terri

• 1st egg
Re: yummy treats xxxx
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2011, 05:36 »
they love mealworms ,in fact they pretty much eat anything ,you can tie up a corn on cob for them to jump up at eat  :D
4 children, 1 hubby, 2 g,pigs, 1 gecko 3 hens, 2 fish,2 cats

dawnie77

« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2011, 10:09 »
Thankyou for your reply. gonna put them on the shopping list lol

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2011, 10:17 »
remember treats such as sunflower seeds, rice, pasta, mealworms, etc are just that treats (like our chocolate) and as such should not be given too often.
Staffies are softer than you think.

dawnie77

« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2011, 10:23 »
thankyou, i often dig up a few worms for them, well my 4 yr old son does. want them to be as tame as poss, cant belive how much pleasure i get from sitting out with them lol
they feed out of my hand and follow me around.
just got 2 more 6 week chicks last week so at the moment got them seperate until i feel they can be together, my other 4 are 11 weeks so are alot bigger in size. hoping in about a month they will be bigger enough to fend for themselves.
loving every min, just want a bigger space, altho i feel they have enough and are allowed out of there area for a hours munch on the grass.

Lindeggs

• A little Kiwi
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2011, 06:22 »