Weed control fabric

• 18 Replies

Chickybaby

Weed control fabric
« on: August 28, 2007, 16:58 »
Hiya
Having recently taken over an allotment I'm thinking of using weed control fabric on my allotment, the one you can plant through, and I was wondering if it is any good? My allotment is prone to weeds, and as I work full time, I'm trying to think of ways to cut down on the workload. Every time I visit the allotment I spend ages just weeding and I imagine it can become a bit sole destroying after a while! Any advice/recommendations will be welcome as I am a complete newbie to this allotment lark.

ACatCalledElvis

Weed control fabric
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2007, 17:49 »
i've tried a fair few getting my lotty in control - you get what you pay for - from a single sheet of plastic to a 10 year lasting membrane - I would pay as much as you can, but most will breakdown in a year, so go for the long lasting stuff.

weed stuff works but only over a long time - 6 months minimum to 2 years - points from my experience -

I would still dig perenial weeds first - esp brambles - they will do their best membrane or not, maybe even glysophate first as well
Look at your edges - wind will do its best to get under and fly off the membrane
Look at the edges for maintenance - make it easy - this is where the weeds will gather - the bit between the membrane and the path or whatever because you can't easily strim it etc
Membranes are slug hotels - take anti slug actions planting anything, and keep it up - esp when wet.
Depending what you are planting - bear in mind how to water when drought (remember them?)

Hope these quick thoughts help!!

E
Be Reasonable Demand the Impossible

Organic as much as my plot neighbours allow

fatbelly

Weed control fabric
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2007, 20:03 »
Hiya Cb,
I got my plot in May this year and I was in a similar position to yourself.
I have learnt that with Weed Membrane you get what you pay for.