One hen being bullied

• 5 Replies

AbbyB

One hen being bullied
« on: March 24, 2024, 01:43 »
Hello all,

For the past few weeks our hens have started bullying the same hen. Her back is all scratched up and her feathers are gone. We have the Durvet anti-cannibalism spray, but they aren't really pecking at her, they are more jumping on top of her and scratching her. She doesn't necessarily have any open wounds, but we do have wound spray.

We have had this flock for a year and haven't had any problems except for losing some (to our dog :( ) . We let them free range occasionally but obviously not all the time because of our dog, and when I closed up the coop tonight I noticed they were all sleeping in the same side of the coop but she was sleeping by herself, so she is definitely isolated.

Someone I know who has a chicken farm said she could have a calcium deficiency but I don't know how to handle this because it's my first time dealing with one being bullied, especially since they are scratching and not biting. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

New shoot

• Global Moderator
Re: One hen being bullied
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2024, 20:17 »
If a hen is ill and the others sense it they can try and drive her out. 

Do you worm your hens?  She might just be off colour because of a heavy parasite load.  If nothing else obvious springs to mind,  it would be worth having a vet check her over.  There may be underlying issues you have not spotted.

AbbyB

« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2024, 01:36 »
I don't worm them and she is definitely more scratched up instead of being off color... But the problem might be taken care of! A fox got one of our other chickens (sadly) and we think it may have been the bully. The one that was having a hard time is looking a little better. I gave her some eggshells just in case it was the calcium though.

New shoot

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2024, 07:31 »