Sweetcorn

• 16 Replies

Benandbill

Sweetcorn
« on: June 12, 2012, 05:58 »
I have planted in a block but with less than 12" between shoots - probably more like 8" - 10".  I've never done it before and the seedlings were left on my plot for me by a fellow allotmenteer, so I didn't have any packet instructions to follow.  I knew they're supposed to be planted in a block so I've done 5 rows of 5, but after I planted them someone came along and told me they need to be planted at least 18" apart.  Drat!!

Does experienced in growing this think I might get some corn from these, even if just a little?

sunshineband

• Global Moderator
  • Tallest Sunflower prizewinner 2014
    • A Little Bit of Sunshine
Re: Sweetcorn
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2012, 07:07 »
They are quite close together for full size sweetcorn, and if it were me I would carefully move every other plant to double the spacing, ang give them enough space to grow well
Wisdom is knowing what to ignore - be comfortable in your own skin.
My Blog
My Diary
My Diary Comments

Benandbill

« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2012, 07:18 »
Thanks sunshineband.  Width wise I can do that but length wise I'm restricted to about 5ft.  The space I have available to grow them in is about 5ft by 16ft.  I can probably get around it by planting 3 rows instead of 5 but they won't be in a block then.

sunshineband

• Global Moderator
  • Tallest Sunflower prizewinner 2014
    • A Little Bit of Sunshine
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2012, 07:20 »
A block doesn't need to be square: they will be fine in a rectangle  :D

Benandbill

« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2012, 07:27 »
Excellent, I'll sort that out this week.  All I'll have to worry about then is next door's hen that keeps escaping and nibbling around our paths  :D

simonwatson

« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2012, 10:48 »
I grew sweetcorn in pots last year. 4 plants to a 30 cm diameter pot. I got nice big healthy plants with most producing two cobs. 8-10 inches is positively roomy by comparison.

Alastair-I