Stupid Problem with Kale... i think!

• 5 Replies

KT

• Experienced Member
Stupid Problem with Kale... i think!
« on: June 24, 2009, 10:55 »
I started off a bunch of seedlings months ago various different veg in pots/trays, however due to some gardening help from an over eager dog i ended up with seedlings everywhere.

I saved what i could and planted them into the ground but i have some trouble with the Kale, Cabbage, cauliflower and Broccolli. This is my first year gardening and i have no idea which was which so i planted what was saveable and hoped for the best while starting a new replacement set of everything.

These saved plants are now getting quite large, the grayhound cabbage is now clearly apparent (about 6 survived), i think i have 1 savoy cabbage and i have some broccolli/cauliflower (still can't tell those apart, is there a way to tell before the heads appear?are cauliflower lower to the ground more like a cabbage?)

Finally i have some plants which i THINK are kale.

the leaves look like this

http://www.hort.purdue.edu/ext/senior/vegetabl/images/large/kaleleaf2.jpg

Am i correct in thinking kale is the most likely plant?? i only planted cauli's, broc, roundhead cabbage, loose leaf cabbage and savoy cabbage ?? im guessing it has to be kale either that or it's a weed i've missed and allowed to get really big.  :blush:

Now these Kale plants are now about 14-15" tall (i have 3) and getting quite big, the thing that concerns me is that the variety i planted where F1 Frosty, who's leaves are supposed to look like this

http://www.unwins.co.uk/images/products/product_1180_large.jpg

Is this right is this how kale matures??

Secondly i've read conflicting harvesting advice?! the seed packet says harvest from january- april, but i've read on the internet that you can use kale as soon as it's big enough as cut and come again??! from about 2-3months after sowing (which is roughy how old mine is)