New hens arriving soon

• 3 Replies

steaders

New hens arriving soon
« on: July 27, 2009, 16:07 »
Hi I am a complete beginner with Hens so please forgive some of the silly question I am likely to ask.

However I am collecting 4 POl hens on Sunday. The coop and run is built ready. Have you any tips on how I can give them a stress free introduction to their new home. It is a bought coop and run. The house and nest boxes being off the ground with a sort of gang plank up to it.  Should I place them in the house first and let them out after a while?. If not will they find their way to bed when the evening draws in?

I have been reading this forum for a week or two and have already learnt a lot from it

Thanks in advance

themagicaltoad1

Re: New hens arriving soon
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2009, 17:29 »
Hi & welcome, lots of us newbies on here. Sounds like you have the same sort of house as me. I just put my chicks into the run part and they soon found their way up the ramp into the house. After I'd given them a day to get used to it I let them out to free range in the garden for a few hrs each day. I've also added a bit more run for them as the one that comes with the house is really too small and they could easily get bored being so cramped. When it's time to get them back in from the garden I just call them and throw a handful of treats into the run & in they go no probs. They take themselves off to bed each evening about 7.30 and I just go out to close the pop hole after them. :D

Sparkle

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2009, 17:40 »
Hey steaders - let me echo the magic toads welcome!

I would put the girls in the hen house first and not let them into the run at all on the first day as the relative darkness will calm them down after the stress of moving. (put some food and water in the  henhouse temporarily if you are keeping them inside)